The Philippine Consulate General in Chongqing was established in fulfillment of the commitment between the Philippines and China made in September 2007 during the meeting between H.E. President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo and H.E. President Hu Jintao at the sidelines of the APEC Economic Leaders' Meeting in Sydney, Australia. The proposal was first broached by Chongqing Mayor Wang Hongju during his visit to Manila in July 2007.

The opening of the Consulate in Chongqing aims to further boost trade and investment links, tourism promotion, cultural and educational cooperation and exchanges, and people-to-people contacts between the Philippines and the central and western region of China.

The Consulate was officially opened on 29 December 2008. Its consular jurisdiction covers Chongqing Municipality and the provinces of Yunnan and Guizhou.

The Post was headed by Consul General Charles C. Jose from its opening until 26 March 2011. The current Consul General, Flerida Ann Camille P. Mayo, assumed on 28 May 2021.